Benefits of Massage Therapy

Massage Therapy

Massage improves blood circulation, eliminates toxins, stimulates the production of endorphins that promote relaxation, a sense of well-being, and stimulates your immune system. Check with your doctor to be sure a full body massage is right for you.  If you have conditions such as Lymphedema (when lymph nodes or pathways are removed through surgery, lymph fluid may not progress through the body; the surrounding tissue swells, thickens, and becomes painful) you would require a unique form of manual therapy by a therapist certified by the American Cancer Society.
I remember the first massage session I had following my first two surgeries (to remove the mass and then to improve the clear margins). In the hospital setting there are bright lights, hospital “smells,” hard stainless steel tables, and cold temperatures (in the operating room). Then about five weeks later, I found myself in a warm room, with wonderful aromatherapy, a soft warm massage table, and low lighting. The moment the massage therapist placed her hands on my shoulders with a warm gentle touch, a tear rolled out of the corner of my eye. Sometimes, the emotions we withhold can make an appearance, make themselves known, and make us thankful for the “moment” we are in. Often this memory comes back to me in a massage session. It no longer holds a sense of sadness, but of thanksgiving.
I remember one massage session where I was experiencing intense tingling in my feet (from the chemo/taxotere) so my massage therapist used almost the whole hour concentrating on slowly and “deliciously” massaging my feet.  I have had no intense lasting effects (neuropathy) in my feet, legs, or hands.  I give massage therapy a lot of credit for this positive outcome.

Leave a Reply

