Self-Empowerment & Self-Belief

Self-empowerment helps us to cope with the trauma, fear, and stress of a breast cancer diagnosis, surgery, treatment, and life after treatment. During the diagnosis period, surgery, and treatment period, fear and anxiety become a constant “partner.” Not a welcome “partner,” but there nonetheless, always seeming to linger in the background. We become habituated to that “partner” with negative thoughts running through our minds like a loop on a recording. The power to change those thoughts is essential if we are going to lose our unwanted “partner.” In her book, “Feel the Fear and Do It Anyway,” Dr. Susan Jeffers tells us “if you always do what you’ve always done, you will always get what you’ve always got.” No one can change that negative thought loop for us; we have to do it ourselves. Self-belief and self-empowerment come from within.
In the book,
“Learn to Relax” by Mike George, he states that “when we undertake to change, we are the heroes of our spiritual journey; we must slay the demons of illusion with the sword of knowledge and the shield of courage.” For us, those demons are all the negative thoughts to which we have become accustomed. He gives us the “Alphabet of Change” Awareness, Belief, Commitment, and Discipline.”
“Awareness”: First, become aware of what you need to change in yourself. What is preventing you from attaining peace? What habits or negative thoughts are blocking the way to realizing your full potential?
What do you want to be or how do you want to feel in the future” What is your vision? When I do my Metta Meditation (this is a Loving-Kindness meditation that is described in a previous posting under Meditation/Visualization) I visualize what I want to be now and in the future: I want to be 1) Safe from inner and outer harm, 2)Healthy and strong, 3) Happy and peaceful of heart, 4) Filled with a sense of ease and well-being. As I meditate, repeating these positive thoughts/affirmations to myself over and over (for about 10 to 15 minutes), I visualize myself as I say “May I be safe from inner and outer harm”…I visualize my body free of disease mentally scanning my inner body and then I visualize myself with an imaginary protective shield or fence to protect myself from outer harm. When I say to myself “May I healthy and strong,” I visualize myself with a healthy strong body jumping into the air with my arms outstretched or running on a path through the woods. When I say “May I be happy and peaceful of heart,” I visualize myself with my eyes closed smiling and an aura of peace centered around my heart. When I say to myself “May I have a sense of ease and well-being,” I visualize my whole being relaxed, confident, and at peace.
“Belief: Many people entertain change in their minds as a kind of fantasy. But, in fact it is a reality that lies with your power.” This loving-kindness meditation directed toward yourself “plants a seed” in your psyche that overtime will grow. This nurturing of yourself helps to reduce your fear and anxiety banishing that unwanted “partner” from your life.
“Commitment: Motivation is the key to commitment. Personal power is released with every promise to yourself that you fulfill.” Making meditation a part of every day is a commitment to yourself; taking 10 or 15 minutes to visualize what you want to be: a person empowered to reduce their fear, stress, and anxiety.
“Discipline: We cannot change unless we are able to maintain a steady course over time.” You need to have patience with your practice of Metta Meditation (or any type of meditation). The changes won’t magically appear overnight. But, with time, you will begin to notice a difference. If you are a person that finds visualizing difficult (at least in the beginning), you can design your own bulletin board or a piece of oak tag with pictures that relate for you to the positive statements/affirmations that your are repeating. You can clip them from magazines or pictures from the internet. Life coaches teach this method of change all the time. As you do your Metta Meditation, look at your pictures that relate to your positive affirmation. You can become the person you want to be.

One thought on “Self-Empowerment & Self-Belief

  1. Pingback: Life Is the Way You Make It |

Leave a Reply

